• Writer Luigi Casaretto, Aaron Liebelt, Greg Medeiros, Steve Shyshka
  • Pub Co: WeeMis Music / G Chyld Music / SNS Music / Street Noise Music
  • Admin: Non-cdbaby


Luigi Casaretto, Aaron Liebelt, Greg Medeiros, Steve Shyshka


Easy Clear

Facebook Sync License,Traditional Sync,YouTube Sync Service



YouTube Monetization

Facebook Monetization


Easy Clear: Master

Recording Type



United States - California - SF

880 South "Thief"
  • Performed By: 880 South
  • Album: Beware
  • Album UPC: 837101276573
  • Album ID: 880south
  • Label: Park Ave. Sound
  • CD Baby Account: CDB00102505
  • CD Baby Track ID: 2294545
  • ISRC: usx9p0635418
  • Released: 01/01/06
  • Key: A
  • Mode: Minor

Similar Tracks

Finding similar tracks.


THIS IS GOOD TIMES MUSIC Reggae Rock. Dub Rock. Reggae Soul and Rock N' Roll. If Marvin Gaye's ice cream melted on Bob Marley's cone and dripped down Steely Dan's hand that was holding a Sublime CD. You'd have 880 South.


880 SOUTH 2008

In 2004, former members of the popular funk-driven quartet, The Floppy Rods, rejoined and exploded on the Bay Area alternative dub rock scene in the form of 880 South. Their combined love of reggae, soul and good ‘ol classic rock ‘n roll was inspired in part by bands such as the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Steely Dan and Bob Marley. Since 880 South began touring in 2005, they have been showcased with some of today’s most inspiring performers: Slightly Stoopid, Fishbone, and the Expendables, just to name a few. With the release of 2008’s sophomore effort, "Youth Bus Sessions”, in the wake, the band is poised to bring their distinctive flavor to hungry crowds worldwide.

The name 880 South originates from the California Interstate Highway that inspired frontman Luigi "Weege" Casaretto to write about his hometown follies and youthful adventures. Weege, guitarist Steve Shyshka and bassist Greg “G” Medeiros have been writing music together for over a decade. Their reputation was solidified by keg parties, wild women and energized funk rock. The early years they combined the elements of soul, jazz and rock. Thus allowing 880 South to rapidly develop a stellar rhythm section that has provided the backdrop for Steve’s scorching guitar work and Weege’s hip grinding-inspiring vocals.

The 3 musicians collaborated in 2004 with Kasey Cox (drums) to record a 4-song demo. The 4 tracks were featured on MySpace.com and – along with their popularity on Sublimearchive.com – led to establishing 880 South as a band to be reckoned with. The following year, the band worked tirelessly to crank out their debut LP, “Beware”. The album, engineered by former Rods drummer Aaron Liebelt, contains 13 blistering tracks of classic dub and rock ‘n roll. Recorded at Street Noise Studios in Northern California, the album was a significant stepping-stone for the band. The solid pocket grooves of the rhythm section, layered with Steve’s jazz and rock-fused guitar tones, provide the perfect canvas for Weege’s playful and soulful lyrics. The new music was warmly embraced at the band’s sold-out CD release party shortly after and their fan base has continued to rise with each live show.

With the arrival of "Youth Bus Sessions" in the spring of 2008, 880 South have not only altered the preconceived notions of dub rock music for themselves, but for their loyal fans as well. The new record, containing 14 original tracks, will feature a remake of their classic live track "City Ditty," now titled "City Gone Mad," which features special guest MCs. The more reggae rock-orientated songs, such as "Apartment 28," "You Can Feel It Huh?" and "Baby Has Gotta Eat,” are sure to keep everyone smitten and swaying at the shows, especially the ladies. With the addition of Nick Fishman on drums, professional management and guidance (Clev Stiles at Left Coast Boardwear), and a growing fan base, 880 South is gearing up for a national and international tour throughout the year and beyond.

Throughout the last 10 years, 880 South has matured into a songwriting mechanism that is focused heavily on lyrical content, compassion and inspiration. A positive message is layered vulnerably underneath the emotion and sarcasm that pours forth on their records and during live shows. Priding themselves on their sense of humor, clever wit and the occasional love song, 880 South is dedicated to cranking their amps up to eleven and rocking crowds everywhere. To get a taste of what the band is cooking up, check out their music at http://www.880south.com


880 South “Beware” is available at CD Baby www.cdbaby.com/cd/880south
You can also find their music on iTunes, Rhapsody, iSound.com, Groupie Tunes & many more online retailers. CD is also available worldwide @ all Super D One Stop Distribution affiliate stores. http://www.sdcd.com
add private note Private Notes

Click here to add a private note. Private notes can only be viewed by you.

add comment Comments

Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.

  • Playlist
Playlist save clear
Your playlist is currently empty.