• Writer Kevin Diegnan/John Merjave
  • Pub Co: Valley Point Music
  • Admin: Non-cdbaby


Kevin Diegnan/John Merjave


Sync & All Media Uses



YouTube Monetization


Easy Clear: Master

Recording Type



United States - NY - New York City

27 West "Look For The Light"
Look For The Light
  • Performed By: 27 West
  • Album: 27 West
  • Album UPC: 791022068726
  • Album ID: 27west
  • Label: Valley Point Music
  • CD Baby Account: CDB00104513
  • CD Baby Track ID: 2349530
  • ISRC: usx9p0681857
  • Released: 01/01/98

Similar Tracks

Finding similar tracks.


This is the debut release from the New York-based rock duo 27 West. The music spans from a hard-rockin', air guitar anthems to soft, touching ballads.


Although only a duo, 27 West sounds much larger. Lead guitarist/vocalist John Merjave's smooth voice brings faint memories of Dennis DeYoung of Styx. His guitar skills have been honed over many years of working with rock cover bands in the New York and tri-state area. He cites The Beatles as a main influence in his music, and although you probably won't hear any Beatlish stylings in these songs, the love of harmony is certainly prevalent. Merjave also handles the bass and percussion aptly and lends a hand on backing vocals.

Keyboardist/vocalist Kevin Diegnan cites Billy Joel as his main musical influence, and "Stay On the Ground" is a showcase for this rock inspiration, from the piano work to the vocals to the melody. Diegnan is also a veteran of many bands in the tri-state area. His fingers seem to be right at home on any type of keyboard, be it piano, synthesizer or Hammond organ, while also singing lead and back-up vocals.

The self-titled debut album is produced with a light touch by the duo themselves. Merjave and Deignan share writing credits on all songs, with a little help from friends on a couple. The album has been a labor of love over the past few years which has finally come to fruition.

If you're looking for an album full of angst and angry songs with obscure lyrics and raspy, hard voices, 27 West is not for you. The songs are more reminiscent of classic rock tunes that are once again making their way on to the charts via groups like the Goo Goo Dolls. If you enjoy smooth vocals and harmonies wrapped within uncluttered, catchy melodies, then perhaps it's time you took a trip down 27 West.

- Maggie Filippone, Delphi's Music Fandom

About the Artist

27 West is the writing team of John Merjave and Kevin Diegnan. Their primary influences are The Beatles, Billy Joel and Journey, but their music is and amalgamation that spans across many musical genres. Their first release, the self-titled CD 27 West, was released on the Valley Point Music label in the fall of 1998. Already they have been written up in the Valley Stream Herald and on the internet at Delphi's Music Fandom. They are currently touring in the New York City tri-state area and are working on their next release.

Their principal objective, as both songwriters and performing musicians, is to get the music out there to as many people as possible. Given that their songs are very cross-sectional, they have the ability to appeal to a wide variety of markets such as Top 40, A/C, Hard Rock, and Alternative.

Band members are...

John Merjave - Lead and backing vocals, guitars, bass, harmonica, percussion and micellaneous noises.

Kevin Diegnan - Lead and backing vocals, piano, EP, Hammond, synths and obscene noises

Aron Topielski - Electric bass, track 2; Double bass, track 9; Gut bass, Track 11

Michael Trombetta - Alto Sax solo, track 4
add private note Private Notes

Click here to add a private note. Private notes can only be viewed by you.

add comment Comments

Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.

  • Playlist
Playlist save clear
Your playlist is currently empty.