What Was Mine

A Dark Line

What Was Mine
Performed By A Dark Line
Album UPC 889211343126
CD Baby Track ID TR0001180451
Label A Dark Line
Released 2015-02-23
BPM 128
Rated 0
ISRC NLG2B1500005
Year 2015
Spotify Plays 873
Writer Simon De Jong
Pub Co Simon De Jong
Writer Barry Tuinstra
Pub Co Barry Tuinstra
Writer Michiel Leideman
Pub Co Michiel Leideman
Composer Barry Tuinstra, Michiel Leideman, Simon De Jong
ClearanceFacebook Sync License,Traditional Sync,YouTube Sync ServiceEasy Clear
Rights Controlled Master
Rights Easy Clear: Master
Original/Cover/Public Domain original
Country Netherlands


Heavy based modern rock with big riffs and great melodies featuring vocal powerhouse Brett Hestla (ex-Creed, Dark New Day, Virgos Merlot, City Of Fallen Kings)


A Dark Line are an alternative rock band from The Netherlands, who combine the best of powerful guitar riffs with mindblowing melodies, pounding drums en roaring bass. Their EP “Running From The Light” is the 5-track debut release featuring vocal powerhouse Brett Hestla on all tracks, including their first single “Head Through The Wall”.

By January 2014, guitarist Michiel Leideman, drummer Barry Tuinstra and bassist Simon de Jong had written hundreds of song ideas, ready to be recorded. All they had to do was find a lead singer who could bring those songs to the next level. Finding the right guy for the job seemed impossible for a while. They worked with a few singers, but none of them proved to be capable of delivering the right amount of energy, passion and lyrical depth that the band felt their music deserved.

A Dark Line decided to send a few songs to American singer/producer Brett Hestla, former lead singer of Dark New Day and Virgos Merlot and former touring bassist for multiplatinum selling band Creed during the time that founding member Brian Marshall left the band. Hestla loved the ideas and offered to perform on one of them. The results were phenomenal.
The band decided they would release a digital 5-track EP featuring Brett Hestla on all tracks to see if their potential audience would be interested in a full length album, a tour, or more.

When the regional music & art foundation K&C found out about the band’s plans they decided to support the project financially in a collaboration with the VSB Foundation. Thanks to them, things got serious pretty fast. The top 5 tracks were selected by the band and sent to The States as demo recordings for Brett Hestla to work his magic.

Next stop was Split Second Sound, a top of the line recording studio in Amsterdam, where Jochem Jacobs (ex-Textures) rules the sceptre. As the band’s engineer he recorded all the drum parts. All guitar- and bass parts were recorded by the band in their home-studio during the following weeks.

The artwork for both the EP as well as the single was created by mastermind Remko Tielemans (Textures). In his work he captured the essence of what A Dark Line stands for. A modern, dark, stormy and yet colourful feeling. Remko also created a beautiful animated lyric video for the first single ‘Head Through The Wall’.

“Running From The Light” is the result of craftsmanship, determination and love for heavy based rock with sublime melodies and big riffs. It starts off with the face melting riff of ‘Draw The Line’ and is followed by the intense ‘Fighting Inside’, an emotional song that is dedicated to the brother of bassplayer Simon de Jong who sadly passed away due to cancer during the recordings. Next up is the first single ‘Head Through The Wall’, a low tuned, dark and heavy song that will make you raise your fist in the air. ‘Here and Now’ is the first song the band recorded with Brett Hestla. A beautiful powerballad with great harmonies. Last song on the EP is ‘What Was Mine’, a statement about taking back what’s yours. That’s exactly what this record does; taking back the power to show the world great rock is very much alive.

Private Notes

Click here to add a private note. Private notes can only be viewed by you.


Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.

  • Playlist
Your playlist is currently empty.