• Writer Karl Douglas Bowers
  • Pub Co: Karl Douglas Bowers
  • Admin: Non-cdbaby
  • Writer Christopher Flynn
  • Pub Co: Christopher Flynn
  • Admin: Non-cdbaby
  • Writer John Shoaf
  • Pub Co: John Shoaf
  • Admin: Non-cdbaby


Christopher Flynn, John Shoaf, Karl Douglas Bowers


Easy Clear

Facebook Sync License,Traditional Sync,YouTube Sync Service



YouTube Monetization

Facebook Monetization


Easy Clear: Master

Recording Type



United States - Florida

Ad Astra "Pathways"
  • Performed By: Ad Astra
  • Album: Surface of Last Scattering
  • Album UPC: 888295286138
  • Album ID: adastra2
  • Label: Three in One Records
  • CD Baby Account: CDB00138482
  • CD Baby Track ID: TR0001634818
  • ISRC: usdy41521430
  • Released: 06/22/15

Similar Tracks

Finding similar tracks.


Symphonic progressive rock.


Progressive rock band Ad Astra returns with Surface of Last Scattering. Led by Doug Bowers (music), and Christopher Flynn (lyrics) the material is classic Ad Astra, with all the dreamy, melodic and cinematic elements that fans around the globe have learned to love over the years. However, this incarnation of the band mixes it up with adding elements of physics, stellar cartography and church liturgy that place this album somewhere in between the late 60's proto prog and the new generation of art rock.

Ad Astra is a progressive rock band cut from the legends of the 1970's. Bands like Yes, Ambrosia, PFM, Alan Parson's Project, Genesis, Flower Kings. We believe in growth and stretching our compositions. Each Ad Astra release is a new creation. Decidedly differing from the previous release, yet maintaining continuity of character and purpose.

Comprised of two writers Doug Bowers (keyboards, electric and acoustic guitars and lead vocals) and Christopher Flynn (6 & 12 string guitars and vocals) together with superb musicians:
Henry Jablonski (bass and vocals)
Chuck Tidwell (lead guitars)
Mitch Rall (percussion)
Create Ad Astra’s Surface of Last Scattering as a modern prog release. You'll find tasty synth layering, strong lead and harmony vocals, thought provoking lyrics, ripping lead guitars and driving bass lines within.

Surface of Last Scattering - The title track for the project is an effort to see the surface and the beyond to the truth behind the first glance. This piece combines physics, meteorology and church liturgy to find out where we finally join together as a single entity in creation.

Lament - Asks the question “How Long?”, yet doesn't leave the listener without hope.

Cradle to Grave to Life - Is a triptych, a three part tour de force. From grief to recognition to renewal this tune takes you through the process of redemption.

A Gift of Peace - Doug's instrumental that beautifully that transitions into the depths of Pathways.

Pathways - Originally written as an expression of grief over the loss of our fathers. Pathways tells the story coming to terms with loss. The Reverend John Shoaf provided the music and melody to the lyrics while Doug provided the definitive progressive rock statement of the song.

Surface of Last Scattering was recorded by Doug Bowers at Three in One Studios.
Arranged by Us and mastered by Gene Crout at Audio Digital Studios.
Photography, layout and design by Christopher Flynn at Trout Studios.
add private note Private Notes

Click here to add a private note. Private notes can only be viewed by you.

add comment Comments

Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.

  • Playlist
Playlist save clear
Your playlist is currently empty.