• Writer Lara Elizabeth Michell
  • Pub Co: Elfpunch Music Bmi
  • Admin: Non-cdbaby
  • Writer Michael James Dodson
  • Pub Co: Pincushionheart Songs Ascap
  • Admin: Non-cdbaby


Lara Elizabeth Michell, Michael James Dodson


Sync & All Media Uses



YouTube Monetization


Easy Clear: Master

Recording Type



United States - Oregon

A Simple Colony "The Fury Inside the Sound (Acoustic)"
The Fury Inside the Sound (Acoustic)
  • Performed By: A Simple Colony
  • Album: Party Favor
  • Album UPC: 888174201467
  • Album ID: asimplecolony3
  • Label: A Simple Colony
  • CD Baby Account: CDB02685378
  • CD Baby Track ID: 1362351971
  • ISRC: ushm81357338
  • Released: 08/12/13

Similar Tracks

Finding similar tracks.


Gorgeous jazz-influenced vocal harmonies sitting atop intricate classical guitar work.


a simple colony is a collaboration between singer/lyricist Michael Dodson (Portland Gay Men's Chorus) and guitarist/composer Lara Michell (the Stolen Sweets, Dirty Martini). They make quirky, moody pop rock songs with lush and layered vocals. Big influences include Lara's classical piano and guitar background, Michael's formative years as a jazz and choral singer, and a mutual love of hooky, harmony-laden pop songs. Longtime friends who met in college, their unique musical chemistry has been intriguing audiences in the Portland area since 2010.

'party favor' is a 3-song EP of one brand new song ("to the sea") and two B-sides. when the band released its second full-length album ('make it start') on May 17, 2013 at Portland's Mission Theatre, this 3-song EP was given as a free gift to all audience members (thus the name 'party favor'). featuring homemade packaging and artwork by singer Michael Dodson.

"to the sea" was recorded by Rob Stroup at 8-Ball Studios; the other two songs were recorded by Jason Roark.

a simple colony performs as an acoustic duo or as a full-band quintet, with the additions of Nancy Hess (bass, vocals), Rebecca Sanborn (keys) and Ned Failing (drums).
add private note Private Notes

Click here to add a private note. Private notes can only be viewed by you.

add comment Comments

Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.

  • Playlist
Playlist save clear
Your playlist is currently empty.