Performed By Railroads And Clearcuts
Album UPC 837101297578
CD Baby Track ID 2876546
Label Railroads And Clearcuts
Released 2007-01-01
BPM 123
Rated 0
ISRC uscgj0701816
Year 2007
Spotify Plays 25
Writer Brandi Whetstone, Colin Herb, Justin Sparks, Kris Hedges
Pub Co Railroads and Clearcuts
Composer Brandi Whetstone, Colin Herb, Justin Sparks, Kris Hedges
Clearance Sync & All Media Uses
Rights Controlled Master
Rights Easy Clear: Master
Original/Cover/Public Domain original
Country United States - Ohio


Melodic and Dischordant rock in an atmospheric cloud of tension.


Railroads and clearcuts is a four piece "post-punk" band from Columbus, Ohio. Our sound aims to be one of tension and beauty. There is a sense of urgency with everything we do. Every member of the group is an equal partner in something larger than the individual alone. Powerful ideas and emotions are expressed in both the music we create and the lives we live.

A brief history....

Railroads and clearcuts formed in the spring of 2002 as a four-piece. The Original line-up included Colin Herb (guitar), Kris Hedges (guitar), Brandi Whetstone (drums) and Josh Schafer (bass). With the demise of their previous band (Ex-Facto), Josh, Colin, and Brandi joined with Kris to form this new entity now known as railroads and clearcuts. After playing a few shows and writing together, Josh and Colin switched instruments. The band came up with new material and went into the studio in February of 2003 and thanks to Eric French and Oath Studios, railroads and clearcuts recorded their first self-titled LP.

After recording, railroads and clearcuts continued to play shows, traveled, and wrote new material. Josh left the band in December 2003, leading railroads and clearcuts back to the drawing board. After Josh's departure, railroads continued writing and refining their sound as a three-piece. Several rehearsal space changes later they recorded three tracks in March 2004 that encompassed remnants of old and new material, documenting some songs written while Josh was in the band as well as some of the earliest work without him. This served as a transitional period for the band. Two of these tracks have been released on compilations: “Saga City” / Cringe Compilation Vol. 4 and “Shell Game”/ Columbus N.I.O.N. (Not in Our Name) support Compilation. In 2005 Justin Sparks(bass), long time friend, supporter, and family member joined the band playing bass, marking a change over for Colin back to guitar. Work began on writing all new material.

In 2006, railroads recorded their next full length album entitled "Bikini Atoll" with the immense help of friend and engineer Duane Hart and Record Retention Studios here in Columbus, Ohio. This 7 song album is all new and marks another shift in sound and experience for the band. This new record will be available soon (early 2007) Check back here to stay posted.

Private Notes

Click here to add a private note. Private notes can only be viewed by you.


Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.

  • Playlist
Your playlist is currently empty.